Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Jamming with others?

Luke73

Hi All,

I'm still a beginner bassist. I've had my bass for about 18 months.

I took lessons for about the first year, but I stopped them after not really thinking I was spending my money and time with the teacher very efficiently. I think I'll try and find another teacher soon, but that's another story.

Since then I've been practising at home, and worked through a few bass method books.

I'm fairly happy with my progress at the moment, and I'm enjoying playing at home very much, but I think I'd like to have a go at playing with others.

I don't really want to start a band as such just yet, or gain work as a bassist at this time, but playing with others would be fun.

I'm a bit nervous though about sounding bad. :freak:

How do you know when you're ready to get out of the back room, and play with others, and does anyone have any tips for finding like minded players at similar experience levels that wish to have some fun, and further their technique?

Thanks,

Luke.

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Understand that most people play for fun, enjoyment of playing. Ask and you shall receive. Don't be afraid to just start talking about it to people you know... someone will come up.
"Every act of love is a work of peace, no matter how small." -Mother Teresa

Hey

Don't let it worry you too much. I've had some great times jamming with people who haven't played much yet, often kids of my friends even. I get something out of it; they get something out of it. Fun. New ideas. Perspective.

Similarly, I've been in the deep end with guys who've really concentrated on their instrument for a long time. I got the same things out of that, and sometimes, a sense of accomplishment, and others, a wake up and practice some more.

It's (usually) all good : }

Go out and play. Do it. Do it. Tab and Jack... do it.