Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Burnout...

BenLoy

Here's a topic for youz:

How do those of you with day jobs manage to keep yourself sane with small amounts of sleep?

My day job is becoming increasingly demanding of the time I used to use to recharge my batteries. Due to economic demands upon my department, I've suddenly found myself stuck on a 6:30am shift working until 4, 5 and sometimes 10:00 in the evening (I used to work a very musician-friendly 11-7 shift). Factor in rehearsals and gigs, and I'm in trouble.

Outside of the obvious "quit your job" response, any seasoned day-jobbers have any advice? I've been running or napping when I can between work and whatever musical thing I have going on that evening to recharge my batteries and relieve stress, but I'm concerned about possible risks to my health if I drag this torture out too long.

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by BenLoy:

Here's a topic for youz:

How do those of you with day jobs manage to keep yourself sane with small amounts of sleep?

My day job is becoming increasingly demanding of the time I used to use to recharge my batteries. Due to economic demands upon my department, I've suddenly found myself stuck on a 6:30am shift working until 4, 5 and sometimes 10:00 in the evening (I used to work a very musician-friendly 11-7 shift). Factor in rehearsals and gigs, and I'm in trouble.

Outside of the obvious "quit your job" response, any seasoned day-jobbers have any advice? I've been running or napping when I can between work and whatever musical thing I have going on that evening to recharge my batteries and relieve stress, but I'm concerned about possible risks to my health if I drag this torture out too long.

I don't gig as much as I used to, or would like to, but that might be due to other factors. :)