Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Setting up my acoustic bass to feel more like my Fender Jazz?

HypnoBassMan

Hello Forumites,

I just bought a Ibanez 5-string acoustic bass guitar. I want to use it when I am traveling (teaching hypnosis) and unable to practice on my 5-string Fender Jazz bass. I travel frequently, and since I just started playing again after about 25 years off, even a short time away from my bass and I start to decline rapidly in my playing ability. I am usually away for 2 to 4 weeks at a time.

So now I have a new problem. The strings on the Ibanez are closer together than on my Fender. That seems to bother me more than switching between the scale lengths (Ibanez is 32 inches and the Fender is 34 inches). The difference in string spacking really makes a difference when I switch back and forth between the two basses. It is totally messing me up. Can I replace or adjust the bridge so that the spacing is farther apart on the acoustic? Or, do you think that I will just get used to it.

Thanks for the help,

HypnoBassMan

HypnoBassMan

The deeper you go the better you feel! (True for bass and hypnosis.)

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The problem is really at the bridge. The difference in spacing is messing up my picking and plucking hand.

I suppose I need to replace the bone-looking thing in the bridge and carve some dents into the places where I want my strings to go in order to spread out the spacing a bit.

Does that sound logical? Has anyone else done this sort of thing?

HypnosBassMan

HypnoBassMan

Changes to the spacing of the nut, or to the bridge, are pretty serious. And we're talking about an ABG, not a slab of wood.

Get used to it. Keep playing both instruments. After a while, you'll be able to pick up anything (scale length, neck width), and be able to play.

Tom

www.stoneflyrocks.com

Acoustic Color