Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Where was your first gig?

JDL

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

My first gig...

was in college, a million and a half years ago, in a campus-housing townhouse at a kegger. I don't remember if we sucked or not... don't think anyone cared. But I'm not sure that that counts, 'cuz I was primarily a guitar player then... can't remember when I first gigged with a bass... I know I did it a few times back then, but its all a blur.

DX

Aerodyne Jazz Deluxe

Pod X3 Live

Roland Bolt-60 (modified)

Genz Benz GBE250-C 2x10

Acoustic 2x12 cab

My highschool, the year after I graduated. T'was a terrible show, but only because the soundguy did not know what he was doing. (has anyone ever seen All the LEDs on a mixing board and power amp go into the red? that was this show). And from all accounts, the bass drowned out every other input on the console. He mixed the show through headphones that monitored the input, not the RL output- but I degress...
...think funky thoughts... :freak:

First Gig (maybe 20 years ago) ......

My friends (drummer and guitar) had a little "basement band." I guess. We had a "gig" playing at the Boy Scouts annual something or another. The drummers dad was involved with scouting.

My cousin was playing in a pretty popular cover band at the time and they let us use their big PA. Armed with the big PA (we didn't know how to and didn't use half of it but we set it all up to look cool) we went to the armory to do our first gig.

We did three songs - Takin Care Of Business, Another One Bites The Dust and a third I don't recall. We played the shit out of them. There was some polite applause, and we packed up all that gear and left. I don't think we got paid. We just did it for fun and exposure.

20 some years later.........still humping my own gear, making a little money, and having a great time.

I sang the solo on "Fairest Lord Jesus" age 6.