Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

EQ theory, sorta

soupster

Hey guys. I know hz and khz, and the things they do. BUt i want to know what there SUPPOSED to do and what they mean and what they are exactly. Like the numerals in front stand for ?hertz? I know im a dumbass but i am just a small town musician, and im not to enlightened on the music i love. I have gigs and stuff, not paying all the time but still. If theres anything u guys can just tell me to further my knowledge that u think is very important, not long that be kool. and....ive been looking for an upright, i just love the sound on it for the blues patterns and jazz progressions. Charles mingus kills man, and ray brown too. see ya and thanx
less is more

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Never sell yourself short jsut for not knowing something----nobody knows as much as they could (should?) & the biggest fools are those who pretend they don't need to ask questions.

Anyway, if I understand your question, you're asking about the numbers you might see before the designation "hz" or khz".

Those are just the pitch frequencies; for instance, 1000hz =1000 cycles per second (or 1khz); 440hz = standard concert tuning for "A", so 55hz =the pitch frequency of a bass guitar's A string; etc.

This helps you select a range of frequencies to be affected by a device, although most musical tones have a much higher range of frequencies than the just the fundamental & these are also important to the sound.

Hz=Hertz and means cycles per second. Any musical wave has a fundamental frequency and a series of overtones. The overtones (or harmonics) follow a mathematical relationship to the fundamental: the second harmonic is at twice the frequency of the fundamental, the third harmonic at 3 times, the fourth harmonic at 4 times etc.