Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

could anyone recomend a book for me to study

Jay J.

I want to start studying music a bit more closely in my spare time. I am looking to really learn how to read music well. for my bass. I also am looking for something that has all the different modes, scales, arpeggios. and something that can teach me which mode/scale is appropriate for a particular cord or key. this might be a lot but I want to get a few good books and start getting back up to snuff on this stuff. can anyone recomend anything to get me started.

I have a person who is not going to formally teach me but said they would lend a hand when I have questions. kinda a mentor I can call upon.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Ed Freidland (who writes a column for BassPlayer)has several books available (and a new DVD) in a variety of styles. I personally have bought a couple of his books, and I really like them. I've been playing for about 30 years, but his books still had stuff I need to learn

edfriedland.com - I don't know how to post a link :(

I hope this is helpful

I'm trying to think but nuthin' happens....

thanks for the replies. that "serious electric bass book" looks real good. I think I am going to get that one. and there is a lot of useful looking stuff on the ed friedland page also. I have heard good things about his books. think I might also pick up that walking basslines book.

Oh, good grief - I know I'm showing my age, but...

After you've gone through all the great recommendations previously cited...check out Rufus Reid's "The Evolving Bassist".

30 years later, when I feel I'm in a rut of sorts, I go back and learn/relearn lessons from that book. Reading skills/playing over changes...they're all there, tho some of it is intended for the upright player (the lessons can still apply).