Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Bass Strings?!

Ryanne

I've been playing bass for about 6 months now, and when I bought my bass it had new strings on it, so I haven't needed any. But now I am feeling that I might... so I have two questions:

1. How do you know when you need new strings?

2. What kind of strings are there? I mean are there different kinds? And what is the best kind?

Sorry if I sound ignorant... that's because I am. ha. But my only true love is playing bass... and I would like to know more about it and not be ignorant forever. So help me out! :)

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, lemme give it a shot.

1. How do you know when you need new strings?

You'll know. Basically, if they sound not

bright. Flat, if you will. If it sounds like

a thump, instead of the normal new-string zing

that you should have, they are dead. Try

slapping the lowest string. If it doesn't

sound like something you'd hear Vic Wooten or

Les Claypool play, then it's dead. Depending

on how oily/sweaty your hands are, six months

is a long time to have strings. Of course,

Jamerson (I think it was Jamerson) would only

change strings when they broke.

2. What kind of strings are there? I mean are there different kinds? And what is the best kind?

There are many kinds of strings; flatwounds, roundwounds, compression wounds, and groundwounds...possibly more. There are: nickel-plated steel; solid nickel; steel, etc., etc., etc. Some have hex cores, some round cores. Some steel cores, some nickel cores. There's a huge variety, and unless you're rich, you'll never try them all (ok, maybe so...). Best thing to do is search on the forum, there are pretty vivid descriptions of many strings.