Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Envelope Filter - Which One?

Cuahtemoc

I've been using a DOD FX25B for a few months now, and I'm finding that it isnt the style of envelope filter that I'm after - the effect is hardly noticeable in a full band setting. I really, really like the sound in Sir Psycho Sexy - anyone know which pedal Flea uses on that track? Any suggestions would be great, thankyou.

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

he used an old mu-tron with an almost-dead battery. according to the interview i read around the time the album came out he was asked that very same question. he replied that he was getting that tone and sent a runner to get a new battery but kept playing. the tone turned out to be great for the parts of sir psycho that it was used on but not for much else. he also said he's never been able to duplicate it :cry:

but at any rate, it's a vintage mu-tron with an almost dead battery. and those things are pretty expensive, not to mention how much a vintage mu-tron will cost ya.

Eeeeeehhhhhhhhh.

I use an Electro-Harmonix Q-tron, which I like very much. I also use it on my Rhodes piano and on my sax (when I can get it to not feedback with my sax mic). The Q-tron+ is a newer model that has a few more features that are probably worth the few extra bucks.

I also have an EH BassBalls, which is an envelope filter-type unit that is capable of creating very Bootsy-esque sounds. Flea used one (along with a distortion unit, I believe) on "Falling Into Grace" to achieve that extreme nastiness.

The EBS Bass IQ is also one that I've heard very good things about. Also the MoogerFooger low-pass filter (I personally think people just like saying "MoogerFooger" :) )