Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

carvin pb100-10

bassdrummer

Hi everyone,

I'm a drummer who is trying to get started on bass. I have an Ibanez GSR200 bass which I run through my Roland PM-3 V-Drums amp. I want a small, light bass amp for practice and small gigs. I like the Fender Bassman 25 which I've tried out in the store with my bass. For about the same price, I could get a Carvin PB100-10. Since Carvin only sells factory direct, I'd have to order it to try it out, but then I'm stuck with shipping and handling both ways if I don't like it. Has anyone heard the Carvin amp or have any comments? Especially if you've done the same comparison to the Fender amp. Or, does anyone have anything to say about the Fender amp? The poor drummer needs help!

"All the world's indeed a stage, and we are merely players..."

--Rush, "Limelight"

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I had one for a while, and in retrospect probably shouldn't have sold it. It's pretty much alone in its class as far as price, size, weight and power are concerned. Very sturdily built. Great neutral sound with no extraneous noise. Louder and far more luggable than many other practice amps.

Nice touches: push-button EQ curves; variable compressor control and noisegate (very useful if you have single coil pickups); fully recessed knobs and room to stow the power cord.

Buy it.

I'd go with the Carvin. But add the $20 and get it with the 15 inch speaker. Same thing, just 5 more inches of speaker.

I have a Fender 60, but I seriously dislike it. When you turn past 3 it gets all muddy, and its so huge,cause they have that messed up tilt-back thing goin on. Its such a drag to carry....

Here's the BIG difference: watts. The Carvin has 100w. The Fender has 25w. Do the math. Same price,different power. Oh wait..it's $20 for for the 15 speaker. I bet the 10inch sounds just as great.

It's portable,powerful, and not pricey! That was so lame....