Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Is there a Ric expert in the house?

Mudbass

I have very little experience with Rickenbackers, infact, I've never paid them much attention at all. Lately though, I've been getting horny as hell for the sound that only a Ric can make and I'm thinking seriously of buying one in a few months.

What are the differences between the 4001 and the 4003? I've heard the 4001 has a thinner neck than the 03, is this so? What are the + and - of each and which do you prefer?

Thanks

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If you have a vintage Ric 4001, or a vintage reissue, it will have a "toaster" pickup in the neck position & a "horseshoe" pickup in the bridge position. Mono output Rics have dot inlays, typically; mono + stereo (Ric-o-Sound) Rics have triangles. What are the differences? Basically, Ric changed from 4001 to 4003 when they redesigned the truss rod system to make the neck stiffer; & that's really about it. (It's not even 100% clear why they changed model numbers at all.)

Don't expect to pick up a Ric, any Ric, and expect it to sound like Chris Squire automatically. The different sounds people get out of the Ric depend a lot on outboard, playing style, amp, signal processing, etc. BUT there does lurk within a Ric a sound that is really the "signature" Ric sound. Also, keep an open & mind an experiment to get a lot of different sounds from it.

One thing I recommend is removing the capacitor between the pickup switch & the neck pickup volume pot, & replace it with straight wire. This evens out the output of the two pickups and, imho, really opens up more interesting tonal possibilities as you work with it.

Don't pay much more than $1000 for a new one.