Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Simple song for Hypno and me!

KikkyMonk

I cant help but feel some kinsmanship to you hypono.. I've been playing for a long time (5 years) but am now trying to actually improve as a musician (not simply at the physical nature of playing bass) and am trying to learn songs by ear... Its all mirrored by your posts

I really liked your entries on the what keeps us from greatness thread b/c I am a victim of negative thoughts (stinkin' thinkin'...) (Well, I think we all are really)

ANYWHO, what are some songs that are easy (relativly) to learn by ear on bass?

So far we got U2's "with or without you" and the cranberries "zombie"

Alrighty...

Yeah I do agree this board is frickin' awesome!

Dave

oh yeah the topic is suppost to be plural (songs)

heh

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Neil Young's ROCKING IN THE FREE WORLD. IT's so easy you'll almost wonder if that should be a bass part ; } ...Anything by AC/DC should do as well. Nickelback, Matchbox20 - the bass parts are easy, but sometimes the songs have little bits - extra measures or extensions at the ends of verses or choruses in them that may take you awhile to remember which goes where. Then it helps to map the song structure out, as some of us have suggested.

There's lots of easy songs; you should be able to hear what is within your grasp. As time goes by you will begin to notice that the version of the bass line you've been thinking is It has more nuance than what you've heard previously, so it's always a growing process - even for those songs : }

Creedence stuff for instance {man, don't I know anything from this century? ; } as played either by Stu Cook, or by Bob Glaub in the more recent live versions are great studies in economy and nuance. It's interesting to learn where Glaub copped the lines, and where he has tailored them more for current consumption, to fit with a different trap set delivery.