Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Fingernails and tone

Adamixoye

I've been playing bass for five years. I've taken a few lessons and watched a few videos, but I'm mostly self-taught. I think I have okay technique, I just need to practice more.

However, when playing fingerstyle sometimes, I notice that my fingernail will hit the string and drastically alter the tone into Treble City. Does anyone else have this problem? Does this mean my technique is amiss?

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Cut off your fingernails. Unless they aren't long and the tops of them strike the string.

In that case, smash your fingers with a hammer and after a while they'll fall off and you'll have a cool tone with both sides of your fingers.

But that would be bad.

Don't do that.

So basically, just pull your fingers away from the strings a little faster (it might help you play faster, too) so that your fingernails won't hit the strings. I know that sound too, it does suck. Hope this helped any.

I try to keep my fingernails cut really short... otherwise I get the same thing. Plus it keeps the girlfriend happy in more ways then one.

boy i can't believed I just said (typed) that

Dave

Or maybe you fingerangle is a bit too much... having never been taught formally myself (and been playing for 5 years myself) I don't know the "correct" way but to me the "correct" way should not make funky treble noises (but it can be a useful tool if you ever want that tone)

the g***ar player in my band also works as my warehouse manager in the day...he managed to drop a brake drum off of a pallet and onto his left hand pinkie about a week ago :( ...2 days later

i found myself dousing his finger with hydro clorox, pinning his hand down with my foot, and yanking the remains of the pinkie nail out with a pair of plastic tweezers... :freak: ...the point of all this is fingernails arent all that bad :thu:

Double what we got o mr. roboto

Double

Double