Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

bored of bass ;(

Albini Fan

I'm new here, but I'm in a rut. I'm 16, I don't go to school (homeschooled ;p), and I've been playing bass for about 8 months. I play on a mexican fender jazz, and a 100 watt 1x15 crate amp.

I've never played in a band, I've just sat in my room and fiddled. I can't play by ear, I just use tabs (sigh!). I don't think I'm getting anywhere, and I'm thinking about selling my gear. I don't know how to find a band, I'm not any good and I'd just be emberassed. I'd let my parents down if I sold my stuff, because they have high hopes for me or something.

Sigh.

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Well, I kinda know how you feel. I currently have a passionate love affair with my bass, but it wasn't always like that. I play on almost identical gear, (MIM p-bass, 100w 1x15), and I just kinda goofed around on it for a while with no direction or training. After about 2 years of that and after forays into g**tar and percussion I picked up a copy of bass player just for kicks and read it. I got a little jolt of bas enthusiasm and played more often, and it just built on itself (lurking this forum helped also...). I found a few websites like activebass.com and others through this forum and then things just took off! I run through excersises and scales and play to Cd's and MP3s for hour on end, much to the chagrin of my new wife! I still have not found a band either, but just reaching a point where you can play and enjoy what you hear coming out of your amp has been very exciting. :cool::cool::cool: The moral of the story: Don't just give up after 8 months! Take some time to develop your skills and tastes and build a relationship with the instrument. After all, if you still don't like it after another 8 months you can still sell your gear, it won't affect the value! :D
Official Member of the Low Down Younguns Society

Hey guy,