Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Bruises

Brunettefox_00

I've been playing for several years and have gone through my share of Upright bass problems. From really high action and sore joints to wrist problems. I've fixed my posture many times and have succeeded in avoiding anythign serious. Lately I've started in a new band where the director (jazz band) wants a really rythmic sound. I found that the sound he wants can only be created if I pluck really hard.

To my question, I have devellopped bruises along the fingers of my right hand (first and second) and they are a little tender. Being right handed and going to University isn't a good mix with these bruises. I was just wondering if anyone had any remedies to my problem.

Thanks

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Where are the bruises exactly? And how exactly are you plucking the strings? Really hard across the fingerboard, or away from the fingerboard? I can't give you much feedback unless you are more specific ,but the fact that you have bruises, not blisters or calluses, sends up a bit of a red flag.
I have no homepage.

Yep, that agressive, ahead-of-the-beat walking on upright was tough on me as well when I first got into seriously playing the upright regularly. Here's some tips from my experience:

First off, pull with your whole arm, not with just your right hand fingers. Try to imagine your arm as a pendulum, and use the weight of your arm. I'll wager there's at the VERY least 15 lbs of weight there that you could be making work for you.