Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Build bass from scratch (almost)

rhrocker

Guys, being a woodworker by trade, and having some beautiful burled mesquite, I'm wanting to build a bass (but would rather buy a pre-built neck). Have any of you done this? I realize that there is at least one other forum that covers construction, but you guys (and gals) are more like family and I like hearing your input. I thought it would be fun to post pictures during the building process. I'd be interested in a quality parts list and source, plus where to get a diagram for the body routing, etc. I'm wanting to make a 4-string active, and would like to use good quality parts.
just makin dem wood chips hea in South Texas

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

i am currently in the process of putting together a few prototypes for a business i plan on starting. the one thing you will notice fairly quickly is that the $4000 some people charge is not justified.

you say you've been a woodworker for some time. if that's the cas, don't bother with a pre made neck. it's way too easy for someone with a little experience, a bandsaw and a bastard cut to do and the satisfaction you get out of looking at that perfect neck is more than worth the half hour or so it's going to take you.

parts? it's all about http://www.fatdawg.com

this is some crazy cat in san francisco who just has tons of crap lying around in plastic tubs. shipping is cheap via fedex ground, but they only ship once a week or so. they're very loosely organized, but they get the job done and couldn't be friendlier. pretty much anything you need will be there and if they don't have it they advertise that they can order anything from any catalog for 25% over wholesale.