Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

the age old question, 4 strings or 5

Jay J.

I have been considering for some time now if I sould make my next bass a five string. I have been playing a 4 stringer for 3 years now and am woundering what the benifits of that extra string are. I know it is a matter of personal preference, but I am just not real sure on the matter. it would be nice to have both, but if I am spending around a grand on a bass, I don't know if I should get a 4 or a 5.

just looking for some different opinions on the matter.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Bro, its 5-string all the way. The only think that a 4-string is better for is slapping, an dsince you already have a four, you have that covered. Five strings offers you greater range; the heavier neck and body required for that low-B gives the instrument as a whole better resonance; it justs looks better. If you wanted to, I'd even suggest making that new bass a fretless...
...think funky thoughts... :freak:

i have heard of 4 stringers that are tuned like the 5,DAEB- might be a good compromise, leave that little skinny string for the geetar heroes. i'm interested in hearing what the local pros think abt these rigs, my band uses keys like g and c alot, also e-flat is considered sweet key for zydeco, i don't like the string spacing on 5-strings and if the low fours are not just a rumor could someone who has played one give some feedback

I just got a five and I love it. I'd never give up my four but it's great to be able to switch off. The four is great for slapping and higher fret work, the five is great for keeping the low groove going. You never have to reach above your fourth fret on a five. It's pretty cool to have one of each. Maybe a six... :D