Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

slapping bass!!

era music

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hand in a balled fist, thumb angled slightly skyward. The slapping motion should come from rotating your wrist to bounce your thumb off the string. Pop w/ your index finger.

Don't move your fingers, try to let the motion come from your wrist and elbow.

Finally, listen to Larry Graham, Louis Johnson, and Marcus Miller 'till your thumb is black and blue! :D

I'm just starting to learn slap technique. I could use some EQ tips or maybe more specifically, bass knob settings to get a good slap sound.

Do I scoop mids? Add them? Heavy on the treble?

What's generally a good starting point for the Marcus/Caron tone?

I have Alex S.'s "Slap Bass Program" video which is incredibly good for technique but the tone thing... Thanks, Jim T.

"When people hear good music, it makes them homesick for something they never had, and never will have."

Edgar Watson Howe

"Don't play what's there. Play what's not there" Miles Davis

If yer into the Marcus thing, get yourself a Jazz bass with an ash body and a maple fingerboard. Put both pickups on full and add some bass. It'll sound even more authentic if you install some kind of active preamp that'll boost the bass from the instrument.

I've never had much use for the scooped mid eq. All it seems to do for me is bury me in the mix. I play a Stingray, so I just boost the treble slightly and leave the midrange and bass controls in the same position I use for fingerstyle (Mids and Bass boosted, bass higher than mids).

By itself the mids make it sound a little nasal, but in a band setting the sound rounds off nicely.

Originally posted by Jim T.:

What's generally a good starting point for the Marcus/Caron tone?