Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

My AXE

After many Years as a studio bassist, My Fender Jazz (64) was ripped off 3 years ago. I walked into a shop and saw a Squire p bass special. Neck is "like" a Jazz. Split forward pickups, one below.

When I picked it up (250) ..it had a great vibe, good feel and nice balance. I have grown to love this bass for the cheap. It has plenty of dynamics, nice feel, etc... It is a viable replacement for my old 64. I would have never beleived that it would turn out this nice. The neck is made in Indonesia, and it is a pink purple color.

What do you play?...and have you ever ran into an auxilary AXE that could be your Primary if the worst happened? I did play a '65 recently..but the squire is hanging really tough.

Amazed and pleased.

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Bill,

As always my thoughts concern guitars since I only recently started playing bass, but I'm sure will apply to basses as well.

But with reference to Fender and Fender-style instruments my feeling is the cheaper, the better. There's no mystery to the technology anymore; and Leo originally designed these things to be mass-produced and sold inexpensively, with replaceable/interchangeable parts. The Henry Ford of electric guitars...

So, as I've proved many times, it's very possible to get an inexpensive Fender or copy - the Squier is a perfect example - that with a little tweaking , or none, will sound as good as a top-dollar, American-made, personally sweat on by Stevie Ray Vaughan model...My own tele, which I love and sounds great, is a Chandler w/an ESP neck and Fender Noiseless pickups. Total cost, with mods, about $400.00.

I'm so sorry that you lost your vintage bass, we do get attached to them. I'd be beside myself if I lost that tele. But I'd just go picking thru Teles until I found another good 'un.

Does this answer your question, or am I flogging the wrong pony again?