Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Technique/Fingering

Is there a set standard to electric bass fingering? If a person took lessons from different teachers and those teachers used different instruction materials would the fingering method still be identical?

The reason i ask is because i'm self taught and i have some books to learn reading and chord/scale theory and i follow the suggested fingering and then redo it my way, and i find it much easier my way. I then ask myself, "Why should i be doing it the other way? What will happen if i don't?"

A lot of times i will economize on fingering and plucking by incorporating slides and hops instead of fingering each note. Like, if i do a 4 half-tone walk-up, i might use four fingers playing each note, OR first finger, slide to second note then finger next two, OR play first note with first finger and slide it through all four notes plucking each as i go. Am i bad person?

I am primarilly into Rock, Pop, Country, Reggae. So perhaps my method is not too critical. Tell me why i need to do everything right? Also, i am currently playing a short scale bass and use my third finger in all positions, for all three fret spreads.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by plastic nut:

Is there a set standard to electric bass fingering?