Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Gear Insurance?

tony_dup2

I'm curious... What are you guys / gals doing about insuring your basses and equipment? Are you covering your gear with your home insurance policy? Or did you get special gear insurance? Don't tell me you're leaving those boutique basses and vintage pre-CBS Fenders to chance!

Thanks,

Tony

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There is a good instrument policy available through the Musician's Union. It's put out by Albert Wohler's Insurance. Also there's a company called Clarion.

Renter's and home owner's policies won't cover your instruments if you use them professionally.

------------------

www.edfriedland.com

The insurance through the Musicians Union provides for full replacement value and covers it anywhere including the car, the gig, at home, etc. If anyone ever has questions regarding the union, my day job is president of Local 153 in San Jose, CA

Wally Malone

I have basses to play, places to be and good music to make!

• 1 year later...

I thought that a year and a half was long enough for this thread to sit in the cooler. Given 61P's recent theft experience, I thought I'd yank it out -- gotta luv that search function! :thu:

Wally and Ed gave great responses above. But, I'm also curious about how the rest of y'all are insuring your beloved bass gear against loss, theft, damage, etc. :eek:

Is your gear insured? How/by whom?

Since I asked, I'll go first: My gear is not insured, but I don't play professionally, and the only time it leaves my home is when I take it somewhere to jam w/ friends (haven't gigged in quite some time). HOWEVER, I will check w/ my homeowners insurance provider soon to find out what I might be covered for. I also intend to look into musical instrument insurance specifically.

Next?

spreadluv

Fanboy? Why, yes! Nordstrand Pickups and Guitars.

Messiaen knew how to parlay the funk.