Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Fretting hand problems

Gretch

Ive been playing bass for about half a year, and I'm really good i think, but i'm completely self taught, so i have no idea if my fretting technique is correct. Sometimes when i play through certain songs (harder ones) my fretting hand will start to hurt right between my thumb and index finger. I was wondering if this is because of technique or if i simply need to get stronger. If it helps my technique is generally to have my tumb on the exact bottom of the neck underneath my index/middle fingers.

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, I got you "beat" by about a year -- been playing a year and a half. Piano's my first love. But I've I had the same problem until recently.

Now I make a concerted effort to pivot my whole fretting hand more, along the direction of my index finger toward my body/away from it. (Am I making sense?) In other words, I'll pivot my arm/wrist so my index finger gets closer to the low E, and my thumb can move closer to A. I don't hold my hand that way, understand -- but as I play I exaggerate this pivotal motion and it keeps a cramp from developing.

Basically, I throw more arm and wrist into playing. Stretching before play helps a lot, too. Don't undervalue that.

What do you experienced bassists do?

Try using a little less pressure. Have someone set up your bass and lower the action. The action is how high the strings are off the fretboard. Get the action as low as you can before the strings start causing fretbuzz. The less pressure you have to exert on the strings will make the pain less.

Also, try relaxing your thumb a little. I lay my whole thumb across the back of the neck almost wrapping it around to the E-string.