Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Using a capo on bass?

Jim T.

Hi there! I am primarily a studio session bassist. I play a Pedulla Hexabuzz and a fretted Fender.

MY QUESTION IS: Do you ever use a capo in the studio or on a gig to get a 30" or even less scale? I do this at home and playing with friends because I have pretty short/stubby fingers and playing in a baritone scale lets me fly on solos! (28")

I would REALLY appreciate any anecdotes or copies of articles that I can wave around at my potential detractors! Is this a more common "technique" than I realize or am I a "pioneer"? DID THEY laugh you out of the studio/gig? On my Pedulla, the tone and low B impact are barely changed at all! I think that capoing a full length neck sounds different/BETTER than a short scale neck. With a BRASS nut, I still seem to get 99% of the depth and resonance as uncapoed. On recordings, no one has ever noticed or commented negatively on the sound. PLEASE respond if you have opinions, experiences using a capo and does anyone have an ultra wide capo to recommend for a 6 string bass. (longer than 2.1/4"?)

MANY THANKS. I'm DEAD SERIOUS! Jim T.

"When people hear good music, it makes them homesick for something they never had, and never will have."

Edgar Watson Howe

"Don't play what's there. Play what's not there" Miles Davis

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Ed! I really enjoy your method books. I'm a a teacher

myself and appreciate your well sequenced material. It's far superior to most of what's available. Thank You!