Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

copyrights, publishing, for originals on an album?

Well, our album is nearly done, all originals, and I have a line on mastering, packaging, art, duplication, all that, but no clue at all as far as copyrighting tunes and whatever publishing stuff may be pertinent.

This is one of these areas (for me) where my mind grinds to a complete halt. I can't follow this stuff at all. I've read about this topic quite a bit, and nothing sticks.

Anyway, I just want to do whatever it is ought to be done so we can finally (!) get this album out in style.

What should I do?

A WOP BOP A LU BOP, A LOP BAM BOOM!

"There is nothing I regret so much as my good behavior. What demon possessed me that I behaved so well?" -Henry David Thoreau

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Ted,

It's really not too big a deal. Here is what we did:

1) Send a copy of the record to the copyright office. You can get the copyright forms online... don't have time to dig up the link at the moment but let me know if you have trouble finding it.

2) Come up with a name for your publishing company, and get a tax ID number for it. You can get the ID number online from the IRS. Do the same for your band name.

3) Join ASCAP or BMI if you aren't already a member (we are with ASCAP). Again you can apply on their web sites. Enter the names of all the tunes on your album into the ASCAP or BMI database, along with their authors' name(s) and designate your new company as the publisher/recipient of publishing royalties. You will be asked to enter the Tax ID #'s for your band and publishing co., and/or the individual SSN's of the authors.

That's about it. :)

Copyright form for your album...

Print out and follow the directions. Basically fill out info, send a check for $30 and a copy of the music... you can copyright all the tunes at the same time... Don't send $30 per tune...

http://www.copyright.gov/forms/formsr.pdf