Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

possible solution for mp3 piracy???

Sorry if this has been brought up before....

I am not a pro by any means but i was thinking....If music is being downloaded for free and producers and engineers and artists are not getting paid there money....why not raise the cost of recording and producing? If a band goes to the studio, how come the engineer doesn't raise his/her rates if they know they won't get paid any points on the record? Why don't producers do the same? At least they would be covering their asses in this new digital era...would they not? As far as the artists....well, I guess they would still lose unless they go on tour and raise the price of their tickets and merch. Or would this be the way to totally destroy an all ready crumbling music industry??? If I am totally wrong here, I'm sorry......just a thought.

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I think your solution would be undone by basic market principles -- unless you formed a cartel with the muscle to enforce the price fixing (which, among other things, would be illegal).

As long as recording gear keeps getting cheaper and 'facilities' more widespread, there will be downward price pressure. Since many people perceive that overdubs require little skill and not much equipment, budget-conscious record companies send artists to small overdub rooms and project studios for much of the work, further depressing going rates.

How is this a solution? All this will do is weaken the pool of recorded music being produced. It will discourage more artists. The studios and producers will get less business, and fewer artists means less music for the consumers. Nobody wins.
That's why I specifically said that I am no pro and I am sorry if I am totally wrong. I am glad you replied because I DON'T know. That's why I asked.