Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

NUGD x2 - Washburn WI64 electric & Yamaha APX600 acoustic

Mighty Motif Max

Hey all,

New Used Guitar Day x2 this week. I picked up two guitars last week from a local-ish seller on FB Marketplace. For context, my only guitar since I started playing in 2018 had been a Yamaha Pacifica 112V, which, while sounding nice and being made well, did not suit my hands very well…not a fan of the neck shape and very narrow nut width. I had a shattered wrist that affected my thumb some years back, and I’ve since come to the realization that things don’t quite work with guitar the way they should sometimes on account of that. Certain thumb movement/pressure things hurt a bit more than they should because it’s maybe 85% of normal. But I enjoy playing guitar, so I wanted to continue with that without the increasing issues that have started pushing me away. After playing a classical guitar for a bit at college and my mother’s older Yamaha FG-450S acoustic and not feeling as much strain, I started looking for a new electric. I tried a few different used models some time back at a shop (when I bought that Ibanez BTB bass I posted about a while back) and it seemed like either thicker or thinner necks were fine, just not the particular shallow C shape Yamaha used on the 112V.

The plan was to stick with the Pacifica until down the road some years I’d get a nice full hollow body with a wider nut and thicker (?) neck and call it a day. But in the last few months I’ve been playing more and the Pacifica was really starting to frustrate me. So I started casually watching used listings for a guitar at the right price and right specs that I would physically enjoy playing more. Nothing fancy needed, but I was just looking for a more comfortable instrument. I figured I’d just wait until there was a really good deal on something that would fill the gap for however many years.