Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Check out this cool new box

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Indeed, there's nothing new here. But it IS a convenient and powerful combination of current technologies in one box. The "open" software concept pushes the boundaries of the customizable "workstation" concept if you ask me. I can see it being a useful live tool. Why bother with a motif or triton sequencer, when you can use cubase as your onboard seq? :)

We discussed this one a couple weeks ago(inconclusive).The only thing unique is the touch screen accsess and their supposed 64 bit DAW software(who knows what that's like).As a builder myself,I'm skeptical of course on what particular Opetron(FX-51? 242?)what DDR,What chipset ect.ect. ect.Amd just announced a 40% price drop on Opterons and FX's and XP's which means their ramping up for the FX-53's to make sure Intel is dead and buried with the latecoming EE(Emergency edition :D )and non-exsistant Presscott.So,to overpay for a machine that's shipping Q4 with all these changes abound doesn't make much sense.To me it's nothing more than a DAW building company with a touch screen and a faint promise of a 64 bit DAW app.To be honest,as much as I like the power of the new Opteron FX's,I fail to see how any audio apps are going to benifit from 4-8gb memory addressing,nor do I see any true 64 bit DAW apps coming.I'm sure some will be advertised that way if you get my drift.
"A Robot Playing Trumpet Blows"