Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

mammoth ivory pick review!!

GreySeraph

So about two weeks ago, I ordered a pick from TuskBuffer. For a while now (don't know exactly how long, but probably a year), I've become quite a fan of the tone one can get from picks of different materials. I have not only celluloid and plastic pics, but bone picks, horn picks, indian rosewood picks, cocobolo picks, filipino ebony picks, macassar ebony picks, abalone picks, snakewood picks, metal picks and especially my own nails (I should explain, I dont make picks with my nails. I grow them mainly because I'm a classical guitarist, but I use them on steel string and electric as well. I even experiment with different nail hardeners and growth accelerators, as even those change the tone of your fingernails). With each I have found a completely separate and distinct tone and attack-- some I favor more than others, some I feel have very specific uses-- but regardless, each is unique and quite valuable to me as a guitarist. But let me get to the point...

This pick is friggin' awesome. I dig it. I dig it profusely. I ordered this 1.3 mm mammoth ivory pick after Tusk was offering discounts on such picks. So, I decided it was worth a shot-- I PMed him, sent some money in his direction, and got it soon after. Now, I regularly perform for people (I lead worship at church at least twice a week, and then I also did some things for the Orange County Symphony Orchestra as of recent), and so I got a decent amount of use in it. (Funny to note, it started out almost pure white and has already tarnished to a funky beige/yellow color, but that was to be expected, as I know how ivory keys on pianos get really yellow after a good amount of use.) Also, I made sure to use it whenever I was teaching or practicing, because I really wanted to see if it would survive the cut, as I already have several go-to picks.