Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

hitting the high e string on 5th string major bar chords?

Creamer298

I've been playing guitar on and off for the past 7 years of my life (mainly on for the past two), and one thing i still cannot pull off is hitting the high E string when i play major chords on the A string (like a D on the 5th fret, etc). I cannot hit the 5th (or A, in the case of the D). My ring finger is always slightly touching the string and there seems to be nothing I can do about it...

Does anyone know any stretches or something I can do to remedy this? Or is this even commonly possible? Also I don't have short fingers so that isn't the problem.

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

OK, I assume that you're barring with your 1st/index-finger across all the strings at the 5th-fret, and your 3rd/ring-finger across the "middle" three strings (2nd, 3rd, & 4th) at the 7th-fret, and that it's touching the 1st-string...

Try using your 4th/"pinkie"-finger instead for the latter, it should afford you a little more "breathing room" for the strings for several reasons.

Also work towards using as light a pressure with your fretting-hand fingers as possible.

From the forearm, slightly roll your 1st/index-finger back so that a little more of its outside-side is pressing against the strings- this requires less muscle-pressure as the bending of the fingers joints is reduced and the finger is automatically stiffer. Picture one of those toy snakes with all the joints that allow it to bend and sway sideways, but remains rigid vertically- your finger is sort of like that.

Consider taking a lesson or two with a really top-flight instructor, too- a good guitar instructor should be able to immediately spot what is and isn't working for you in your technique, posture, etc.

Ask yourself- What Would Ren and Stimpy Do?

~ Caevan James-Michael Miller-O'Shite ~

_ ___ _ Leprechaun, Esquire _ ___ _