Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

what to do with my guitar...

Creamer298

I've been playing guitar for about 9 years now, but I have just recently started to get into it seriously. I'm still not that good, but I'm definitely making progress and the instrument is really starting to make sense.

I have had a Dean Evo for probably 6 years now. I got it after my Squire, and I really haven't had any regrets. The tone isn't anything to write home about, but it feels really good to play. However, I also haven't done anything to maintain the guitar besides putting new strings on it every month or two. The output jack is really messed up and goes out on me monthly.

So now that I'm dedicated to the guitar, I'm wondering if I should try and fix my Dean up, or if I should try and find a new, better quality guitar.

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If it feels really good to play it then why not fix it up? It's not hard to replace an output jack. You might also want to take it to a good tech and get a full set up.

A local guy charges $25 for a complete setup. I've seen others charge $50 and more.

There is a tech thread floating around here somewhere where we've listed techs we've had good luck with.

Raise your children and spoil your grandchildren. Spoil your children and raise your grandchildren.

Welcome to the best forum in the universe!

The Dean's not a bad guitar, but ya may be ready to upgrade. Tell us more about your musical tastes, and which other guitars you like.

Caprae's advice is also very sound, but ya mentioned not being wild about the tone. If you're gonna go the route of gutting it, installing new pickups and output jack, you're gonna have a chunk of change tied up in the Dean, which could also be put toward a better guitar, and keeping the Dean as a backup axe, as long as ya eventually resolve the jack issue.

Never a DUH! moment! Well, almost never. OK, OK! Sometimes never!