Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

child's guitar strap

Elwood

I bought my grandson (10) a beginner strat clone for Christmas but the strap is too long to help hold the guitar upright when he sits to practice/learn. When we fold the strap to shorten it to hold the guitar upright, it's so short it doesn't give him room to take the guitar off easily. One solution might be to get removable button locks, but that may be awkward for a child to grab the strap to attach it. Has anyone here found a good solution for a child's guitar strap?

I'm concerned that unless the guitar is held comfortably in the proper position, he'll give up on it. I guess we could always just set it up as a lap slide guitar. ;)

As an illustrator, I might hope my work could someday touch someone's heart, but a musician has the potentital to touch a person's very soul.

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply
The strap helps because otherwise the guitar slides flat into his lap (same reason I wear a strap on both my Strat and bass). With the too-long strap the guitar is slanted out 45 degrees. I'm sure it's more of a problem with a glossy electric than with a light flat-bottom acoustic. Maybe an alternative would be to get him a setup where his leg is elevated, although I've tried that and find it uncomfortable.
As an illustrator, I might hope my work could someday touch someone's heart, but a musician has the potentital to touch a person's very soul.

When we fold the strap to shorten it to hold the guitar upright, it's so short it doesn't give him room to take the guitar off easily.

Erm... I'm confused. Why can't he just take the strap off the guitar?

I still can't understand why he can't take the strap off the guitar?

Has anyone here found a good solution for a child's guitar strap?

It isn't just a child-strap problem...everyone deals with it.

Here's the trick...and it's got nothing to do with the strap.