Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Got the SVT-410HLF!

Tenstrum

It's a keeper!

So now, I've got questions...

Running the cabinet at 4 ohms should be pushing 800 watts into it from my 1200s.

So if I add my 410HEN, that's going to drop the ohms down to 2.66. I emailed Fender and they stated that my 1200s would be fine running at 2.66 ohms, but to be careful as I'd be pushing 400 watts into the 8 ohm HEN and 800 watts into the 4 ohm HLF. But ain't I already pushing 800 watts into the cabinet at 4 ohms any way?

So what's the difference????

I've been hooking up my HEN and my Fender 2x10 and running at 4 ohms for years now. The funny thing is that my Fender 2x10 is a 150/300 watt cabinet and I've been pushing 400 watts into it for the last 6 years without any problems. If course, I've never had the channel or main volumes past 3 at any point.

So as long as I practice volume management, is there any apparent danger to my HLF?

The only other solution that I can think of would be to hook up all 3 of my cabs (which would just be ridiculously loud, overpowering, and totally awesome!) and further balance out the ohm/watt loads to an even 2 ohms.

Tenstrum

"Paranoid? Probably. But just because you're paranoid doesn't mean there isn't an invisible demon about to eat your face."

Harry Dresden, Storm Front

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Too bad shipping was too much to you for my PR410HLF. I traded it in for an even swap and went home with the Eden D410XLT tha I originally wanted. The sound is much clearer and I am happy.

I guess to each their own. You love your Ampeg and I am thrilled with my Eden cab. It is back at the store (the PR410HLF that is)

"The more I learn, the more I realize how much I don't know" by Me

Well I'm glad that you got what you wanted, just wish that shipping wasn't so flipping high!

To each their own.

Tenstrum