Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

amp wattage

Switch hitter

hello, Ive been away for a while because Ive been insanely busy with work and stuff. But anyways. Since I have made my bass a stereo bass, I utilize the two simultaneous channels on a 1968 fender bassman 50 watt amp. I can get that thing pretty loud and stay clean without breaking up. My question, is a 50 watt tube amp good enough for small time gigging if I mic it? or should I look for something with a little more wattage, and if so, can you recommend an amp where I can run two channels with independent volume and tone nobs that I can run at the same time. Thanks.

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm not an expert in this field, but for bass, 50W is probably a bit weak.

The experts here might need a bit more info. What style/genre of music?

What other instruments are in the band?

What are the other players setups/volumes?

What style of small gigging are you thinking (coffee house/book store, jazz lounge, or small venues)? And it might also depend on the house PA system. Mic'ing it might be okay for the crowd, but if you or someone else in the band needs to hear you, 50W might be to weak to hear over drums or electric guitars (unless they get their own monitors).

[Carvin] XB76WF - All Walnut 6-string fretless

[schecter] Stiletto Studio 5 Fretless | Stiletto Elite 5

[Ampeg] SVT3-Pro | SVT-410HLF

we pretty much play what we want, though we dont try to be loud at all. Its just me and a guitarist, and Im talking about a small venues or jazz lounges.

Well, how loud is "loud"? I reckon you could probably get away with 50W (if it's a tube amp). That's assuming there's no drummer and your guitarist is going to make room for you and not drown you out with a 100W head and a quadbox set to 11.