Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Introduction/Lucille/Mesa

Omaha

Hello everyone! New member here.

I've been an acoustic only player forever. 30+ years. Recently my band is getting into some stuff that really makes me think I need an electric. This is all totally new to me, so I'm learning fast.

I spent an hour today playing an Epiphone Lucille through a Mesa F100. WOW! That was FUN! I think I should have done this years ago. Acoustic is wonderful, but I was amazed at all the different tones I could get from the Epiphone.

Any thoughts for a new convert? Like I said, I'm new to this. I picked the Lucille just because I like BB King and the guitar looked good on my dealer's wall. I love the way it played. It took me a while to find an amp I liked. The Mesa seemed to have a much "better" sound. Other amps I tried were a Vox, a Peavey and a Marshall. I've already decided (I think) to go with a all-tube design. Seems like the thing to do.

One specific question: The amp is used. Is that an issue? How long do the tubes last? The thing looks pretty new, and sounds fine. Should I worry?

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I think you did it the right way: you played some amps and picked the one that sounded best to you. Many come on this forum and ask how to pick a guitar and want to know which brands are best.

I don't think you have much to worry about with newer amps, especially high quality ones like the Mesa. Tubes wear-out over time, but just carry a few extras with you in case and they're not too expensive anyhow. I play 95% acoustic but love the dexterity of electric now and then. In addition, many songs require an electric to sound right. Ever try to play "Working Man" on an acoustic? (Great song, BTW!)

I would love to buy a real Lucille if I ever had the $$. Solid choice for many types of music, though if you venture into high-gain territoey you'll want a solidbody.