Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Sharing the love of music with your family.

I think everyone with a heart loves music, but how do you, as musicians, share the love of music creation with your family? My wife is an incredibly talented vocalist with no aspirations to learn gear nor theory, so arguably she is the perfect bandmate!

That said, what are opportunities you have created for your children to carry forth the music mantle?

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Good question!!! I didn't want to influence my daughter and push her in "Dad's direction," so she had a whole variety of musical instruments growing up.

And of course...she ended up with guitar. But here's the weird part.

When I was 10 years old, I saw Segovia in concert and it blew my mind. As we walked out of the concert hall, I said to my father "I want to be able to sound like that." So I started learning guitar.

Fast forward. My daughter was 10 years old. I was in the studio, with a Variax and a ton of processors, and playing away. She opened the door and came in to tell me it was time for dinner, but she stopped, listened, and her jaw dropped. She said "I want to be able to sound like that."

Blew my mind...again.

Good question!!! I didn't want to influence my daughter and push her in "Dad's direction," so she had a whole variety of musical instruments growing up.

And of course...she ended up with guitar. But here's the weird part.

When I was 10 years old, I saw Segovia in concert and it blew my mind. As we walked out of the concert hall, I said to my father "I want to be able to sound like that." So I started learning guitar.