Music Player Network

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Anyone Using Console Emulator Plug-Ins? Whaddya Think? #3007151 09/08/19 06:33 PM
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,741
Anderton Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,741
I've gotten into them more, but am particularly surprised by what happens when you add a little crosstalk. It seems to be one of those "happy accident" things. Also I've been checking console emulators to see if they add and ringing to square waves to be more "inductor-like," and most of them do. Interesting.

Haven't really played with the recent Slate of Waves emulations, my experience is mostly with the ones built in to Studio One and Cakewalk. The difference is subtle, but when bypassed, the mix loses 5% of...something desirable.

Re: Anyone Using Console Emulator Plug-Ins? Whaddya Think? [Re: Anderton] #3007180 09/08/19 10:18 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 12,851
R
RABid Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
R
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 12,851
I had never really thought about using them. Will have to look into it. I have a few console channel strips from UA but I don't think that I have anything that will do crosstalk.

Re: Anyone Using Console Emulator Plug-Ins? Whaddya Think? [Re: Anderton] #3007234 09/09/19 05:26 AM
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,741
Anderton Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,741
I thought console emulators were sorta snake oil. When they were bundled with Sonar I needed to take a look at them. I was surprised that they maid a difference. Here's an example of a sine wave at 100 Hz. the one on the left is the original waveform, the three on the right are from three different console emulators. Mostly they reproduced some non-linearities that seemed related to input transformers and distortion. The only ones I've used with crosstalk are the ones in Studio One.

[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]

Re: Anyone Using Console Emulator Plug-Ins? Whaddya Think? [Re: Anderton] #3007267 09/09/19 02:18 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 138
Mike Rivers Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 138
There seem to be a number of different things that suggest "console emulation" so any suspicions of snake oil are certainly reasonable. Some simply emulate distortion characteristics and filter shapes of famous name brands, no different than "channel strip" plug-ins (hardware or software). But when you want to emulate a real life console, crosstalk between channels is a possible feature. Another, is to introduce small random variations in each channel that represent the spread of component tolerances. For example, if you set all the channels to the same frequency, Q, and boost or cut and apply the same signal to them, what comes out might have a couple of tenths of a dB between them at a measured frequency. Same goes for pan settings. It's a good excuse to mix with your ears rather than your eyes.

Try running a console emulation through Room EQ Wizard and look at frequency response and harmonic distortion sweeps to get a more accurate picture of what's going on between input and output.

Re: Anyone Using Console Emulator Plug-Ins? Whaddya Think? [Re: Anderton] #3007809 09/12/19 06:31 PM
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 20,535
Dave Bryce Offline
KCFFL Champ '14,'16,'18
20k Club
Offline
KCFFL Champ '14,'16,'18
20k Club
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 20,535
I have some of the Plug-In Alliance ones. I do like them - it's especially fun to see what they do with the presets - but they don't fall into the "need" category for me. idk

dB


Moderated by  Anderton 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3