Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Monday October 18, Mac Rumors Abound

I find it amazing that only myself and Mark Zeger are the only ones on here who are furious that the baseline Pro just got bumped from $1300 to $2000. My 2014 Pro has a non-crappy pre-butterfly debacle keyboard, HDMI port, SDMC slot, 2 Thunderbolt ports, 2 USB3 ports, MagSafe power adapter. No thanks Apple, I'll see what you do with the next Air, YOU GREEDY A** IDIOTS.

I have no inside knowledge regarding the price bump, but I do know from a friend that does manufacturing business with China that shipping has gone exponentially out of sight in the last few months, to the point where he is moving some of his manufacturing to Mexico.

For something like this, where it has been in development for months in specialized Chinese factories (and cannot easily moved elsewhere), it would not surprise me to learn that it was slated to be a lower price at launch. I'd bet that a good portion of the price bump is because of the dramatically increased transportation costs and bottlenecks.

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

If that's true--and I've heard the same about other products--then many other things are about to be jacked up if they haven't been already.

That's if you can actually find anything in the first place. If I can sell my Moxf8, I'll be probably getting a PC4--but they like many other things are pretty scarce.

What I've read some chip and related manufacturing has already moved to India and other locations. I think a good thing to spread manufacturing out over the globe. Like working in IT for large corporations backups and key servers we had at multiple locations so if one region of the world had a major problem we were covered by other locations. As we put it when designing systems... How many levels of "Murphy" can we afford protection against.