Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

David Byrne�s American Utopia

This may be the best movie of a musical performance in many, many years! Directed by Spike Lee, the band includes a dozen 'triple threats'! Excellent musicians, dancers, and singers. They are all playing wireless. There are no backing tracks. It is live and brilliant! The energy that the band and David perform with is amazing. The musical director is also the keyboard player, and he plays a portable keyboard attached in a harness. No f**king keytars here! Being a theatre designer, I love Rob Sinclair"s brilliant lighting design.

Turn up the volumeâ¦. Watch It! You will love it!

'55 and '59 B3's; Leslies 147, 122, 21H; MODX 7+; NUMA Piano X 88; Motif XS7; Mellotrons M300 and M400’s; Wurlitzer 206; Gibson G101; Vox Continental; Mojo 61; Launchkey 88 Mk III; Korg Module; B3X; Model D6; Moog Model D

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I saw the tour of this album in Boston . . . one of the best concerts I've seen. Amazing band. It looks like the Broadway show is a porting of the design from the tour.

My favorite part is how awesome the percussion sounded with no kit player- just 4 or 5 percussionists with one instrument each dancing across the stage sounding tight!

[My favorite part is how awesome the percussion sounded with no kit player- just 4 or 5 percussionists with one instrument each dancing across the stage sounding tight!]

The percussion in this performance is off the charts! I would love to learn more about the incredible and creative arrangements. It"s an amazing collaboration between Karl Mansfield (musical director/keyboardist) and David.

'55 and '59 B3's; Leslies 147, 122, 21H; MODX 7+; NUMA Piano X 88; Motif XS7; Mellotrons M300 and M400’s; Wurlitzer 206; Gibson G101; Vox Continental; Mojo 61; Launchkey 88 Mk III; Korg Module; B3X; Model D6; Moog Model D

The Bandâ¦