Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Heavy-duty Boom Stand Recommendation

Hey Everyone,

I am getting really frustrated with my cheap boom mic stands. I have a Townsend Sphere L22, which is a great mic (I'm still learning it), but it is HEAVY. Every time I use it, my boom starts sagging like a...well it's sagging. Does anyone have a recommendation for a boom mic stand that can hold up a heavy mic and is quickly and easily adjustable. I pretty much just mic my voice and guitar (mostly acoustic) these days, so I don't need it for overheads or anything like that. I would love to be able to grab it and adjust it with one hand. I did some Googling, but nothing leapt out at me as hitting the sweet spot.

Your suggestions are greatly appreciated.

~Pat

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

You don't mention which stands you are using? The usual bargain priced import stands?

Way back in the 80s I bought a pair of "AKG" mic stands made in Germany. Turns out they are Koenig and Meyer (or K&M). I still have them both, hundreds if not thousands of gigs later and they both still work as they should.

They have the tripod style base with three legs that fold out to make a base. If I don't put the boom out too far and keep it in line with one of the legs it easily supports my Neat King Bee. I just weighed the mic and without the shock mount it was 1 lb 12+oz so probably about 2 lbs complete. The clutch on the boom does not slip. I wouldn't try to mic a grand piano with that mic using the same stand though.

Maybe with a heavier base. Or sandbags, I used to use those when I did photography to stabilize the tripod.

Somebody put a free Latch Lake $500 mic stand with weighted boom on the Keyboard Corner Classified but I was too late. That was a beauty, it looked pretty heavy but super stable. Maybe overkill for what you need.