Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT: Northern California Fires

There's any number of scientific papers and other articles that explore climate change and how it may relate to fires (among other things). I'm sure there's some that may argue the opposite way, especially these days when everything is "fair and balanced". I'm the one who brought it up, so I'll just say that I don't know 100% that there's a connection--and I doubt the scientists would say that either. But it's looking more likely as we get more data. And of course this is only one factor in how bad fires may be.

Personally I'm looking to get out of hurricane central fairly soon, and retire up north where it'll be warm (and not boiling hot) :D

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm no scientist. But after Australia fires last year and other big fires climate change can't be helping.

https://www.cnn.com/2020/08/24/weather/california-wildfires-climate-change/index.html

Experts pointed to poor forest management in Australia as well. There are recent governmental policies that prohibit prescribed burns and other proactive land management, combined with an especially dry season this made for a disaster waiting to happen. This will happen with or without climate change, a phrase that seems to be applied to any variance in weather we deem negative.

The same thing caused the wildfires in Brazil: recent government policies prohibited prescribed burns, the creation of fire-breaks, and other land management and the result was predictable after enough natural kindling had built up over years.

Proper land management and forest policies can vastly outweigh any changes the climate is throwing at us. Arson and human error also need to be addressed more effectively.

Keyboards: Nord Electro 6D 73, Korg SV-1 88, Minilogue XD, Yamaha YPG-625

Bonus: Boss RC-3 Loopstation