Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

The Reharm Room

• Replies 1.7k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I always liked that song, and that's a very inventive treatment of it, Carlo. You gave it a new mood, and I'm glad you shared that. I can hear it being developed and soloed on further in a group context.

Like a lot of songs I like, it's a shame most people won't recognize it, much less appreciate the creative thinking that went into a reharm. So the value of the reharm is in presenting the tune as new music. :thu:

Two mildly amusing (off the wall) anecdotes from my gigs this week (of no consequence to anyone, including me) :

At a recorded live gig at a studio, I had a stack of two CD's I'm on sitting on the piano. At the end, an odd fellow with a beret came up and said "Oh, you have CD's! Do you have "Sketches Of Spain??!?" :laugh: (Maybe he thought I was a CD salesman.) I said "no, I only have my CD's."

He said "Aw MAN!! You've GOT to get "Sketches Of Spain!!!" :freak: A local music critic standing nearby jumped in saying, "he doesn't have Sketches Of Spain, but you should buy his CD's - one of them made the top CD's of the year list in the paper."

So the guy says, "Well, do you play Sketches Of Spain on it?" I said, "no, but I played all those same notes." So he said, "Ok, I'll buy it." :)

And I was at Twins Jazz Club in D.C. Friday night. It was supposed to be a collaborative quartet but Twins listed it on its site with my name at the top - like it was my thing. So I told the guys we shouldn't do tunes, just create stuff and play on it (free jazz, like in that other thread.} I set up the first "piece" and somehow the band ended up going into a standard so the whole game plan was shot... but suddenly doing standards unexpectedly seemed like a totally free, radical experience.

Great stories, Steve, thanks for sharing.