Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Need help choosing songs to help teach english

BluesWithoutBlame

I'm an American living in Norway. I have a neighbor from Sri Lanka. He has asked my to try and help out his daughters to learn better english, conversational english.

Not being a teacher, I need all the help I can get. I was thinking that somewhere in our lessons I would teach them some songs. That always seemed easier for me when learning spanish, norwegian, etc.

Thing is, they are young (and I gravitate to old blues...definitely not appropriate) and I think it shouldn't be too hard, too many verses at least for the first few songs I teach them.

So, any good ideas here? I think songs that are too childish (like "Mary had a little lamb" or "itsy bitsy spider" ) aren't right either. They ought to be grown-up songs, just not too complex, and not too many big words.

Cm'on folks...give me a hand...any great suggestions?

Thanks!

====================================================

Check out my original music at

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/jacker

"In theory there is no difference between theory and practice,

but not in practice."

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

English is not my first language, so I can relate to your problem.

First thing that comes to mind: what about a few simple old songs from the Beatles or the Abba repertoire? Their lyrics are simple, without big or foul words and, especially in the case of Abba, have a joyous feeling that a child can surely enjoy.

Plus, Abba is from Scandinavia too... ;)

Korg PA3X Pro 76 and Kronos 61, Roland G-70, Integra 7 and BK7-m, Casio PX-5S, Fender Stratocaster with Fralin pickups, Fender Stratocaster with Kinman pickups, 1965 Gibson SG Standard

Bluesape, SIT UP STRAIGHT...and STOP goofing around here. Be Seeerrrious! Or else you'll get detention.

WHY can't you be more like Dreamer there, who is attentive, and gives good suggestions?