Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Sax, Clarinet, Flute, Trumpet~Jazz Freaks

Compact Diss

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have tried to play the saxaphone, piano, and the drums well after I learned guitar. I think if I had perservered I could have been pretty good at either (well maybe not the drums). But I just came to the conclusion that I only have so much time for music, and that time was better spent on guitar. I like the guitar best anyway.

I will say that that I gained an appreciation for these instruments that I probably wouldn't have had otherwise. The hard part for me on another instrument is I miss the ability to imrovise freely. It doesn't take all that long to learn the basics and a few songs, but to be able to just blow takes awhile.

I have probably told this story here before but what the heck. I took group piano class at a community college after I graduated from college. I knew I was in trouble when the teacher walked up to me and asked why I was wiggling my finger on the keys. I didn't really notice it before, but I was subconciously trying to get vibrato.

On saxaphone, I took lessons from a guy that I got hooked up with from the local music store. This guy would come to my place for a one hour I think $20 lesson. He would end up staying for a minimum of 2 hours every time. I was his only adult student, and the only one who had any music experience. We would have a beer and talk about music for hours. He was the one who turned me on to Coltrane. That in itself was worth the price of the lessons.

My first lessons were actually on piano. I still like to play but I find it tires my hands out after a while. Someone bought me a harmonica for a present, I`ve fooled around with it a few times but I don`t know if I`ll really make an attempt or not. My mom hates the instrument for some reason. I have a wood flute I picked up somewhere, I`ve made a few attampts on that too.