Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Am I nuts?

Hardtail

During the month or so that I've gotten back into guitar playing, I've been thinking more and more about maybe pursuing a Masters Degree in music (there's a decent college in the area for that).

It has nothing to do with what I'm currently doing for a living (have a B.S. in Computer Science) and I have no plans on wanting to be a professional musician if I were to achieve this.

I guess part of me wants to do this because a long time ago, I wanted to go to Berklee. I chickened out because I didn't think I could handle the college work since I was a high school drop out at the time (now I have a comp sci degree... go figure).

Maybe this is some kind of mid life crisis.

I could do this. However, I'll probably have to spend a few years with a good teacher (preferably jazz) and keep practicing. For the record, I do understand most of the music theory discussions on this board.

I guess I always have to be different. Don't mean to be.

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

In answer to your question - Yes.

Well, no, but it's a big undertaking at your (our - I'm 58) age. You may find, as I did (I have a computing degree too) that you have underestimated the amount of time investment.

But good luck to you if you decide to do it.

G.

"When the power of love overcomes the love of power the World will know Peace": Jimi Hendrix

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=738517&content=music

The Geoff - blame Caevan!!!

Originally posted by Geoff Byrne:

Yes.

Well, no, but it's a big undertaking at your (our - I'm 58) age. You may find, as I did (I have a computing degree too) that you have underestimated the amount of time investment.

G.

That's probably true.

I'm kinda in the same situation. My degree has nothing to do with my work or music. I earned it after I got out of the military, got married and had kids and a full-time job.