Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Building Picking Skill

Tone Taster

Oh yeah. This topic can really border on snobbery like flyfishing, golf, or pool, etc . . .

Anyway, We are all fearfully and wonderfully made, so I am posting with all respect justly due to different hand structures

The only way I know how to appraoch this topic is by a chronological personal testimony and hopefully it helps

From my inception in '84 to '88, I was "formally self-taught"(Jaco quote), I anchored my wrist flush with the guitar around the bridge area in which the wrist line was completely vertical and hand horizontal, using just the finger muscles only.

I was mainly a legato/slur/pull off/ hammer guy

I forget how I tucked the pick

'88-90- studied Northeast Jazz style where I was instructed to remove the anchor, tuck the pick on the SIDE of the index finger(top Knuckle) between the thumbprint part of the thumb

They wanted the movement to come from the elbow in a vertical fashion (Just couldn't dig it)

Late part of '90 - was told to use my wrist more from a friend of mine who was studying picking skill

91-93 - tendonitis condition - No playeee !!

94 - 98 I played still w/ no anchor, but was using a combo of the wrist w/ elbow movement

Tucked pick the same way

98-02

I was starting to observe that I was getting some speed using circular movement, and that when I muted, I was forced to use the finger muscles of the top joints of my thumb and index

It was this muting that got me back to the anchor

03--04 I noticed that Jimmy herring, Metheny, and Morse held the pick w/ 2 fingers plus the thumb

I saw that Metheny and Herring didn't anchor, but used the wrist.

I tried tucking the pick this way and continued to play w/ no anchor

04-05

I saw Di Meola vids and noticed a wrist anchor w/ the pick tucked on the side between index, using the finger muscles