Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Help a keyboardist

Dr Teeth

Hi, i have been playing keyboard for about 11 years now. I recently like 8 months ago started playing guitar. I bought an acoustic guitar with steel strings because all I want (for now) is to become a strumming guitarist. I learned piano almost alone, and i learned sax, bass and drums by my self. But I cant with the guitar and i am about to quit :cry: The big!!!! problem that I have is changing chords, I cant change chords fast enough to sound like i am playing a song. Secong i have many problems with the chord that you do puting your index finger pressing all the string, i dont know how to say it in english. What happens when I try to change chords is that i feel like I loose control of the neck of the guitar so I cant put back my fingers in the new positiong fast enough. And last, could you recommend me some DVD specially about strumming guitar? thanks.
Rebuilding My Self

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

For a moment there I thought you wanted help moving the damn piano again. :D

I've been playing for 'bout 25 years and there are all kinds of chords that I simply can't adjust my hand to play comfortably or cleanly for that matter. It's all time and practice like anything else.

When you can play what you see without having to see what you play... you're there.

Until then keep practising and like all good keyboard players should... exercise your hands and fingers routinely but not extraneously.

I still think guitars are like shoes, but louder.

Barr chords take a long time (all the fingers across). They are important. See my logo at the bottom and return to look at it as often as possible.

Also try this as a subtitute.

x

x

x

This is a Gmaj. It can be played any where on the neck to make any major chord.

x

x

x

Cmaj also anywhere on the neck.

Soory

xlow

to

xhigh