Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

what strings do you use?

guitars of OZ

G'Day from Oz.

I would like to know what type of strings most people use. What factors affect your purchase?

Are terms like 'cryogenically treated' and 'Nanoweb' just hype or do these products represent cutting edge technology in string manufacture?

Do you care if the strings are made in the USA or not?

Dose a round core really last longer than hexagon core?

I have been playing for 15 years, love gibson,marshall,fender,gretch,daddario,ghs,roland and maton.

looking forward to anyones reply.

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I miss 5150's... :cry: Hey, don't laugh! They were good strings! :D

I know, I know... " were "! :P

But recently, it's been Elixir's.

"Treat your wife with honor, respect, and understanding as you live together so that you can pray effectively as husband and wife." 1 Peter 3:7

i use GHS Thick'n'Thins for my tele, DR Pure Blues 11's for my 335, Martin Phosphor Bronze 12's or 13's on my acoustic, John Pearse Nuages on my gypsy guitars.

i don't know about the hex-core/solid-core debate, sure don't notice a huge difference.

There is quite a wide variety of designs, materials, and gauges available nowadays!

I can't speak for the "Cryogenic"-crowd, but "Nanoweb" and other similar approaches are very "real"; they're refering to either the entire string (at least, the wound strings, if not all of 'em), or the winding wire used on wound strings, being coated with various materials to protect the strings from corrosion and crud build-up from sweat, oils, beer, wing-sauce, you name it.