Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

refining my tone

gonz0

Hi everyone,

I've been playing for about 18 years, after a few years of mainly focusing on electronic music and not playing much guitar I'm getting back into it. I actually had to sell all my gear about a year ago due to financial problems, and was stuck with a piece of crap guitar and fx unit to play through so I've basically had to start from scratch in rebuilding my sound. Since I was pretty young when I started playing I never really got into understanding gear, I usually just got what was recommended to me and it worked out.

I recently bought an Ibanez sz320MH and a Line 6 Flextone 3. I'm really into older thrash and some newer metal and hardcore, but I also play a lot of funk, classic rock, and other stuff. Right now I'm mostly using my setup to record direct. I'm really not happy with my tone for heavier music and I'm trying to find what will impact it the most without completely changing gear. I mostly use the triple rec settings on the Flextone and play with the bridge pickup (the stock Ibanez pickups) and the sound doesn't have the sustain I am looking for. It's difficult to describe, the attack sounds okay but notes very quickly turn into this low end mush and die out pretty quickly. Anyone with experience with any of this gear know where I should start? I understand I'm not going to get exactly what I want with digital modelling technology, so please don't tell me to get a tube amp!

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

How old are your strings and what type and guage are they? Maybe that's the problem?

I would recommend either stainless steel or nickel-wound steel strings with a something like a .046 or .048 on the low E.

Also make sure the neck PU isn't set too close to the strings - that's a common cause for string damping.

The flextone has a compressor right? Have you used that? Does it have a noise gate like the POD? Turn THAT off!