Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Follow up to guitar soloing and "Child of Evil"

revolead

I recently received a PM via cosmo112 and Cavean about many of you wanting some advice and help learning how to play metal solos or just even cool solos. Well, I'm no expert, but I can hold my own, and I have studied enough to know what works and what doesn't.

1. Practice. I can't say this enough, and many other guitarists will agree.

2. Scales and arpeggios. Pick up any standard scale and arpeggio chart and learn everything. Learn the basic major scale, minor scale, harmonic minor scale, modes, everything. I am not even up to speed and technique like I wish I was, but I have developed a lot better chops just running through scales and arpeggios.

3. Learn theory! This will help for forming scales on different positions of the fretboard and it will help for forming chords, everything. No matter what anyone says, theory never hurts, it only helps.

4. Learn how to play in many styles and in the styles you like. I spent weeks studying Eric Johnson just so I could benefit from it. And I have. I am not Eric Johnson, but I can play much better having learned from his technique. Same with John Petrucci and Iron Maiden, etc. But never limit yourself. I don't care how much you like Zach Wylde, if that's the only guy you imitate, you'll never know anything beyond Zach Wylde.

5. Find books and movies and stuff that will help you practice and motivate you. I learned from all kinds of material.

6. Don't listen to JUST metal. I like everything. I take ideas and concepts from Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, blues, country, hard rock. There's nothing wrong with songs without solos, and sometimes just jamming over a song without a solo (e.g. filling in your own solo even if lyrics are playing) is a great way to learn how to play in different keys, etc.