Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Gruhn Guitars

Grimmer

OK, here's the deal. I have a small opportunity to do an internship with Gruhn Guitars. The problem is that I am trying to convince my college (Luther college) that this internship would be something that would get me a major foot in the door in ways you couldn't even imagine. If you guys could please post your thoughts on this wonderful place, I am sure testimony from the active members of the guitar community couldn't hurt my cause. I need your guys help to pull this off, anything you could post would definately help! Tell them how truly wonderful this place is, and what an incredible opportunity this would be. :idea:

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I majored in Economics and had a senior year internship at a major radio station. I wrote an lengthy Economics paper on the "Economics and Radio Advertising" and received 8 credits for independent study in my major.

Can you create an academic experience from working at Gruhn? Maybe you could write a paper on "guitars and their role in shaping American pop culture". Just a thought.

Mark's suggestion is excellent, and few places would provide you with the actual instruments, experience, and knowledge base that Gruhn's would have.

Which came first...

-The chicken, or the egg?

-"Modern" popular music and film soundtracks with heavy contra-bass sounds, synths, samplers, wild sound effects, "virtual" modeling... or electric guitars, and Leo fender's "Precision" Bass? (The latter is incredibly impacting on Twentieth Century music, right across the board.)

-"Modern" popular music's faster and often complexly syncopated rhythms, or the rise of mechanized industry and transportation, with its attendant backdrop of mechanical rhythms?