Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I know Jack Schitt about guitars

Huge

I've come to the conclusion I know Jack Schitt about guitars.

It's not something a guitarist will usually ever admit to but I'll explain.

I've been playing guitar for about 10 years now and I'm not bad at playing. But you could hand me a coffee table with some strings on it and I'd be happy enough getting my playing "fix" on it. As far as dialing in tone goes I'll admit I haven't got the first damn clue.

My brother can be seen rolling his eyes when he hears me playing - then he'll roll the tone knob back a bit, and fiddle with this and that on the amp until he's happy and then he'll go "That's better...".

He tells me that with his Ibanez and Marshall setup he can "dial in any tone that he wants" but to be honest - it all sounds the same to me - just somebody trying to sound like Joe Satriani.

So I had planned on buying myself one of the new Variax models for Christmas just because it was fun to play with. I've no idea what a 59 Stratoblaster or a Martin B52 or Les Paul GoldSnot or a Doobrie Coral Scimitar is supposed to sound like though but I do know that I can get a nice twangy noise off this setting and a good acoustic off this one and that's me happy.

My brother reckons for that amount of money I could get myself a Les Paul Studio and yes it looks very cool but all I know from my quick play of a LP in a store was - this thing weighs a ton.

He reckons that after I've had the Variax for a bit I'll discover I'm always playing the Tele setting or Strat setting or whatever and that I'm better off finding a really good guitar that I like in the first place and sticking with it to get the tones I want out of it cos the Variax is a Jack of all trades but master of none guitar.

I suppose the difference between us is that he's looking for his own recognisable tone (that sounds like Joe Satriani's) so that he can become a superstar with it.